Tag Archives: ganesha incarnation

Shree Ganeshaya Namah!

The son of Lord Shiva and Goddess Parvati, Lord Ganesha is an integral part of Hinduism. Popularly known as the elephant deity, he is believed to be the god of wisdom, intelligence and knowledge.  His pot belly, curved trunk and large flappy ears give Lord Ganesha a unique and lovable identity. Lord Ganesha bestows success and removes all obstacles from our path of prosperity. Whether buying a new property or beginning a new venture, seeking Lord Ganesha’s blessings would help the event flourish to scaling heights.

Ganesha Incarnations

According to the Ganesha Purana (the sacred text dedicated to Lord Ganesha) there are four incarnations of Lord Ganesha have or shall appear on earth during different periods (yugas). Their aim is to uphold the principles of integrity and fight against the devils.

These four incarnations are –

  1. Mahotkata Vinayaka – this incarnation with ten arms and red colored body appeared during the Krita yuga. While some sources say that he was mounted on a lion, other believe that he was mounted on an elephant. This incarnation killed the demon brothers – Narantaka and Devantaka.
  2. Mayuresvara – the one with six arms and white complexion riding a peacock made an appearance during the Treta yuga. It is believed that he was born to Lord Shiva and Goddess Parvati. This incarnation of Lord Ganesha killed the demon – ‘Sindhu’.
  3. Gajanana – the one who has four arms and was born with a crimson complexion. He was born to Lord Shiva and Goddess Parvati in the Dvapara yuga. His vehicle was a tiny mouse. The incarnation appeared to kill a demon known as Sindura.
  4. Dhumraketu – this incarnation of Lord Ganesha is yet to appear. It is said that he would have two or four arms and a smoke-ash colored complexion. Mounted on a blue horse, he might appear during the end of the Kali yuga. Its aim would be to destroy all evil powers and restore peace and harmony in the world.

Lord Ganesha Names

The Hindu elephant deity, Lord Ganesha is known by numerous names. Given below is the list of the most popular names of Lord Ganesha with their meanings –

  1. Akhurath – the one who has a mouse as his charioteer
  2. Alampata – the ever eternal lord
  3. Amit – incomparable
  4. Avaneesh – lord of the entire world
  5. Avighna – remover of obstacles
  6. Bhalchandra – moon-crested lord
  7. Bheema – gigantic
  8. Bhupati – god of gods
  9. Buddhinath – god of wisdom
  10. Buddhipriya – wisdom
  11. Chaturbhuj – the one with four arms
  12. Devadeva – lord of all lords
  13. Dharmik – one who gives charity
  14. Dhoomravarna – smoke-hued lord
  15. Durja – invincible
  16. Ekaakshara – single syllable
  17. Ekadanta – single tusked
  18. Eshanpura – son of Lord Shiva
  19. Gadadhara – the one who has mace as one of his weapons
  20. Gajanana – elephant faced lord
  21. Gajananeti – elephant faced god
  22. Gajavakra – elephant trunk
  23. Ganadhyakshina – leader of all the celestial bodies
  24. Ganapati – lord of all gods
  25. Gaurisuta – son of Gauri (Goddess Parvati)
  26. Gunina – master of all virtues
  27. Haridra – the golden colored one
  28. Heramba – mother’s beloved son
  29. Kapila – yellowish brown in color
  30. Kaveesha – master of poets
  31. Krti – lord of music
  32. Kripalu – the merciful
  33. Kshamakaram – the place of forgiveness
  34. Kshpira – who can be easily appeased
  35. Lambakarna – large eared god
  36. Lambodara – the one with a huge belly
  37. Mahabala – immensely strong
  38. Mahaganapati – the supreme lord
  39. Mangalmurti – auspicious lord
  40. Manomay – winner of hearts
  41. Mrityunjaya – conqueror of death
  42. Muktidaya – the one who bestows eternal bliss
  43. Namasthetu – warrior of all evils and sins
  44. Nandana – lord Shiva’s son
  45. Nideeshwaram – the one who gives wealth and treasures
  46. Omkara – the form of Om
  47. Pitambara – one with yellow colored body
  48. Pramoda – lord of all abodes
  49. Purush – the divine personality
  50. Rakta – the one with a red colored body
  51. Rudrapriya – lord Shiva’s beloved
  52. Sarvadevatam –
  53. Sarvatam – protector of the universe
  54. Shambhavi – the son of Goddess Parvati
  55. Shashivarnam – the one with moon like complexion
  56. Shoorpakana – large eared lord
  57. Shweta – as pure as white color
  58. Siddhidata – one who bestows success
  59. Siddhipriya – one who bestows boons, wishes and blessings
  60. Sumukha – auspicious face
  61. Swaroop – lover of beauty
  62. Tarun – ageless
  63. Umaputra – son of Uma (Goddess Parvati)
  64. Vakratunda – the curved trunk lord
  65. Varaprada – one who grants all wishes
  66. Vighnahara – remover of obstacles
  67. Vignaharta – destroyer of obstacles
  68. Vinayak – lord of all
  69. Yashvasin – beloved


Share Button
Posted in Ganesha Incarnation | Tagged , , |
  • Ganesh Chalisa
  • Ganesh Yantra
  • Ganesha
  • Ganesha & Family
  • Ganesha Avatars
  • Ganesha Bhajans
  • Ganesha Books
  • Ganesha Farewell 2013
  • Ganesha Festivals
  • Ganesha Iconography
  • Ganesha Idols
  • Ganesha Incarnation
  • Ganesha Literature
  • Ganesha Mantras
  • Ganesha Names
  • Ganesha Pooja
  • Ganesha Prayers
  • Ganesha Songs
  • Ganesha Stories | Popular Stories About Ganesha
  • Ganesha Stuti
  • Ganesha Temples
  • Ganesha Temples in USA
  • Ganesha Vahana
  • Ganesha Videos
  • Ganesha Wallpapers
  • ganesha worship
  • Indian Elephant God
  • Lakshmi and Ganesha
  • Your Own Ganesha Experience
  • Ganesh Mantra